What happens if you deactivated your twitter account a while ago? Can you restore a deactivated twitter account? The answer is….NO you cant. Although twitter had this feature a while back. They took it off later. Maybe its a way to deal with spammers? Only twitter has their explanation for it.
Yes it is permanent. So I decided to create a twitter account and delete the account after creating it by clicking deactivate my twitter account. Soon after you click deactivate my twitter account, you will be redirected to twitter home page. If you try to sign in with the twitter account you had deactivated you will get this.
Apparently there is NO way to get back your deactivated twitter account. I emailed twitter to confirm this. This is what they had to say. (thumbs up to twitters customer service. The replied me in less than an hour)
So what do you do IF you really want to deactivate your twitter account but get back the same username?
The only method I know so far is to change your username and email before you deactivate your twitter account. For example in my case my username @askaaronlee will be changed to @askaaronleeONE or @askaaronlee1 before I deactivate it.In this case you can create your new account using the username. For my case I can create a new twitter account with the username @askaaronlee
Make sure you change your email address too if you want to use the email to create another twitter account using the email.